Georges Aperghis

Antonis Rouvelas

Play all audio recordings

Antonis Rouvelas was born in Papadianika (Laconia, Greece) in 1987.

 He started working with music in local unions; in 2006 he was admitted in Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – Department of Music Studies and the year after he was accepted to study composition with Dimitri Papageorgiou.

​In September 2012 he was accepted in the Master’s Program at the University for Music and Performing Arts of Graz, studying composition under the supervision of Beat Furrer. From January 2016 he is a PhD student in Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – Department of Music Studies.

 He has been selected for composition competitions, call for scores, closed-type seminars and scholarships such as: Composition Workshop with Beat Furrer and DissonArt ensemble (Music Village, 2011), Pierluigi Billone's masterclass PAS-E (Venice, 2012), 5th PanHellenic Composition Competition in memory of Dimitris Dragatakis (2nd prize, 2012), Tellogleion Arts Institution (scholarship, 2013), Composer Collider Europe project (ensemble Musikfabrik, 2017), etc. 

He has been performed and received commissions by numerous ensembles and organizations such as the Athens State Orchestra, the DissonArt ensemble, the Zeitfluss ensemble, European Recorder Players Society, the A4M Performing Arts Group, the workshop New Greek Composers nowadays, the composers association die Andere Saite, the association NOW!, the organization "Music is network",  the UMS n’ JIP duet, etc.

His wider interests include the artistic multimedia theory and praxis, as well as the performance of the middle-eastern music.


Ordered by year. Most recent works appears first

Ensemble (10 - 19 instruments)

Diavates for large ensemble (2014)

Chamber Ensemble (5 - 9 instruments)

Semimpulsive Spasm (2013)
Retrospective Spasm (2010)

Percussion Ensemble

Carving The Stone (2013)

Solo Instrument

Searching for balance for solo piano (2012)
Ex-Haiku for solo flute (2010)

String Quartet

Interstigmata (2010)

Pierrot Ensemble (fl, cl, vln, vlc, piano)

Retrospective Spasm (2010)