Giulia Lorusso

Play all audio recordings
Born in Rome in 1990, Giulia Lorusso studied piano and composition at the Conservatory “G. Verdi” of Milan where she obtained her bachelor under the supervision of Alessandro Solbiati. During the period spent in Milan she has the opportunity to collaborate with the “Piccoli Pomeriggi musicali” young orchestra for several orchestrations and transcriptions.
She currently lives in Paris where she’s attending a Master's dergee at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris with Frédéric Durieux and the Cursus 1 at IRCAM at the same time.

Prize-winner in several composition competitions she received a fellowship form the Italian Ministry of Cultural Heritage (Movin’up program) to support her project for the Cursus at IRCAM.

She attended master-classes and courses held by Pierluigi Billone, Salvatore Sciarrino, Stefano Gervasoni, Frédéric Durieux, Francesco Filidei and Dmitri Kourliandski.

Her music has been performed in Italy and abroad by Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra, Divertimento Ensemble, Quartetto Prometeo, Ensemble Nikel, during festivals as 47° Ferienkurse für neue musik in Darmstadt (2014), Impuls Academy 2015 in Graz (2015), Tzlil Meudcan Festival in Tel Aviv (2015), Accademia Chigiana in Siena, Itlay (2014), Firenze Suona Contemporanea in Florence (2014-2015), Festival Cinque Giornate in Milan (2013), Festival für junge zeitgenössische Musik Werke in Wien (2013), Tactus Forum for Young Composers in Bruxelles (2015) and others.
Ordered by year. Most recent works appears first

String Quartet

In Superficie for string quartet (2014)

Solo Instrument

Let it come for double-bass (2014)
In Superficie for string quartet (2014)
Let it come for double-bass (2014)