Georges Aperghis

Miguel Farias

Play all audio recordings
Composer and Phd© in Latin American Studies.

He is the winner of several international prizes and beneficiary of commissions and residences in Chile and Europe. He was a finalist in the "Composer Project" and "Roche Commissions" programs of the Lucerne Festival, with Pierre Boulez as a jury.

In June 2012, he won the 2012 Critics 'Art Critics' Prize in the National Opera category and the National Arts Prize "Altazor" in 2013, with his opera "Renca, París y Liendres" premiered by the Chilean Symphony Orchestra. In 2018, his second opera “El Cristo de Elqui” was premiered at the Chilean National Opera, Municipal de Santiago, with Jorge Lavelli as metteur en scène.

He is currently working on an commission for Radio France for the Ensemble 2e2m, another commission and artistic residency for the Vortex Ensemble in Switzerland sponsored by Ibermúsicas, and a last piece commissioned by the Ensemble Musiques Nouvelles de Belgium.

For 2019 he has commissions from Santiago Philarmonic Orchestra, from the National Symphony orchestra and a Ballet from the Banch (Chilean National Ballet).

Since 2018, Miguel Farías teaches at the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile.


Featured Pieces