Sachie Kobayashi

Play all audio recordings

Sachie Kobayashi (1990) now takes an interest in more intuitive creation and musical expression related to social phenomena. She started her career as a composer while complementing her research as her second master in education of music theory at Haute école de musique de Genève after completed her master’s degree in 2020 at the same conservatory.

Born in Kanagawa, Japan, she began studying piano at the age of seven. And she started studying composition at the age of twenty.

Currently she is based in Geneva and Paris, she received some scholarships and grants, especially the Swiss Confederation Excellence Scholarship, the fellowship by the Program of Overseas Study for Upcoming Artists sponsored by the Agency for Cultural Affairs, Nomura Fondation and Kakehashi Foundation. Immediately after her arrival in Europe, her works were presented worldwide and she participated in several festivals. She worked with numerous ensembles and musicians including Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Reconcil, mdi Ensemble, percussion CYTi, Orchestre de la HEM, Ensemble 21, The Geidai Philharmonia Orchestra.

In 2021 to 2022 she participated in the Cursus de composition et d’informatique musicale by IRCAM (Paris, France). Also, she is a shortlisted for the « World New Music Days 2021 » by ISCM and selected « Protonwerk no. 11. » by ensemble Proton Bern (Switzerland). She got « Special Mention » by Ars Electronica Forum Wallis Selection 2020 with her acousmatic works. She also collaborated with Daniel Künzi, film director, with his documentary film « pomme de discorde ». For the video art she collaborated with Ekaterina Kostelskaya, multidisciplinary artist who explores the correlation between the physical space and the physicality of sound. In recent years, she began her involvement in stage production with videos in the concert.

In 2020, « I haven’t known you yet » for orchestra and electronics was premiered by the HEM Orchestra, conducted by Pierre Bleuse.

In Japan, she received her bachelor’s diploma (Cultural Creative Studies) from Aoyama Gakuin University. Also, she studied at the Tokyo University of Arts (GEIDAI, bachelor of composition). In 2018, she won the Acanthus Prize and the Taito Mayor Prize.

Ordered by year. Most recent works appears first

Percussion Ensemble

Don't Hit Me pour 2 percussionnistes (2019)
Don't Hit Me pour 2 percussionnistes (2019)