In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library
prismatic_fullscore A4 z 2 1 617


For Piano and Orchestra

17,51 €
Printed format (+16,20 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download

When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
11 - 15min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-1629-5

In Stock
Videos on this piece
Notes on this piece
Prismatic, commissioned piece by the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, for Piano and Orchestra consists of seven continuous sections. The piece opens with trills and agile motifs on the woodwind and soon it falls into a sustained pitch ‘A’ which is transformed through different instrumental combinations and techniques. This long, coloured pitch ‘A’ is abruptly interrupted and plunges into the low register where it wavers in the dark and rich tones.
A descending gesture of the piano and the orchestra, which mirrors the ascending scales played by the woodwind in the opening bar, gradually establishes itself as a prominent figure and later leads the piece to a dramatic climax where the whole orchestra creates an enormous sound-world like a monolith. After a big climax, intimate and rhythmical section begins with a piano solo. This grows into a duo with vibraphone and into small ensemble groups. Here the tempo marks becomes notably slower than previous sections.
A use of minor 3rd becomes prominent in a tranquil section where a shimmering-like gesture is heard. This tranquil section has only a growing dynamics until it reaches to the very last section of the work.
In the final section, the piano is very fast and flashing in the highest register. Here a huge contrast is heard between high and low instrumental groups.

Prismatic was composed between June 2007 and August 2008 in Thessaloniki, Greece. It lasts about 15 minutes and is scored for solo piano and 21 performers. It was first performed by the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra and pianist Sooyeon Lim under the direction of Roland Kluttig in Sejong Chamber Hall, Seoul on 25 October 2008.
Flute|Piccolo|Oboe|Clarinet|Bass Clarinet|Bassoon|Trumpet|Horn (French Horn)|Trombone|Tuba|Piano|Violin (2)|Viola |Cello|Double bass|Harp|Percussions (2)
Score Details
Format - A4 / US Letter
Pages - 92

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: