In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library
string_quartet_no2_fullscore A4 z 2 1 709
no  image found

String Quartet No 2

String Quartet

9,27 €
Printed format (+14,80 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download

When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
6 - 10min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-1630-1

In Stock
Videos on this piece
Notes on this piece
String Quartet No 2 consists of nine continuous sections with an unchanged metronome marking. The initial idea of a lingering high ‘E’ is prominent and is constantly coloured by timbral variations on each instrument. However, this coloured pitch ‘E’ is interrupted whenever brisk and agile descending passages appear. Throughout the work low notes are extremely rare and the cello’s fourth string is heard in the middle of the piece, when it is used for a solo to lead into a dramatic pizzicato section. After this pizzicato section, the sustained pitch ‘E’ is accompanied by ‘A’ up to the end of the work.

String Quartet No 2 was commissioned by the Tongyoung International Festival and composed on the Greek island of Crete in early 2005. It was first performed by the Arditti String Quartet on 19 March 2005 at the Tongyoung International Festival, Korea. It lasts for 8 minutes.
Violin (2)|Viola |Cello
Arditti String Quartet
Score Details
Format - A4 / US Letter
Pages - 28

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: