In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library

Conscious Sound

for Bb clarinet, piano, violin and cello

9,27 €
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download

When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
6 - 10min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-3004-8

Videos on this piece
Notes on this piece

[Please contact the composer for performance materials]
Conscious Sound
was commissioned by Festival Mixtur 2014 and premiered by Ensemble Taller Sonore on April 25, 2014, at the Fabra i Coats in Barcelona. In Conscious Sound, each instrument is treated as an imaginary pulse generator, in a way that a continuous sound consists of a series of audible fast pulses. This concept is prominent throughout the piece. However, to achieve this effect, I had to redefine the “default” sound of each instrument. For the violin and the cello, the strings are detuned over an octave lower than normal. The very loose strings allow vibration at a very low frequency almost like pulse generators. The same effect has been achieved for the clarinet using a patent-pending ultra-thin synthetic reed I developed for the piece. Finally, to achieve the pulse like effect for the piano, I used sounds from inside the piano such as slow scraping with a plectrum longitudinal to the low register strings.

Score Details
Format - A4 / US Letter
Pages - 48

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: