In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library
2nd Violin Concerto prev
2nd Violin Concerto prev 2
no  image found

2nd Violin Concerto

Piece Published by Donemus Publishing
Estimated Duration
21 - 30min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-1066-8

In Stock
Notes on this piece
Violin Concert No. 2 was written immediately after Hanna Kulenty completed her first opera, The Mother of Black-Winged Dreams (1995). She had already had the Concerto in her mind for a long time, but the opera had to be written first, in time for this performance during the Munich Biennale. The most important difference between Concerto No. 2 and the preceding concerto (1992) is the stronger reference to the Classical tradition, even though the music is more mystical and trance-like. Unlike in Classical concertos, the three movements have merge into one another quite imperceptibly. The relatively short finale dissolves into the same E tone from which the whole composition originated. The 'sound clouds' in this composition consist of quarter tones and glissandi. Their function is not decorative, they are an essential part of the whole construction.
Première: juni 2000 - Isabelle van Keulen met het Gelders Orkest o.l.v. Jurjen Hempel
Publisher's number: 09078
Flute (4)|Oboe (4)|Clarinet (4)|fagot(3)3rd also Contrabassoon|Horn (French Horn) (6)|Trumpet (4)|Trombone (4)|tuba|timpani|Percussions (2)|harp|Piano|Violin I|Violin II|Viola (12)|Cello (10)|Double bass (8)|
Score Details
Format - A3 / Tabloid
Pages - 84

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: