In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library
no  image found File 2

Delirium Potastis

per clarinetto, sassofono, pianoforte

10,30 €
Printed format (+16,20 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download
When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
North America (Canada - USA)
Estimated Duration
11 - 15min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-4571-4

Videos on this piece
Notes on this piece


Delirium Potastis is Latin for a “given delirium,” poetically stirred up by the consequences of war (the theme suggested by the Thelema Trio for their commission) in which ordinary soldiers are both purveyors and victims of gunfire, land mines, bombs and other forms of death. Despite the harsh reality, they try to reach inner peace by singing their incomprehension and guilt in the midst of the violence and darkness surrounding them: “I pour my moaning, All my shame with anguish owning; Spare, O Lord, Thy suppliant groaning.”

Requiem Mass, 1962, Stanza XII


The graphic and sonorous representation expressed in the musical ideas is “seen” in the numerous onomatopoeias that punctuate the discourse.


Technically, the harmony is based on Sequence 1 of the Mass for the Dead of the Roman Catholic Liturgy, Dies Irae (Day of Wrath). The Dorian mode is presented both horizontally and vertically, creating an accumulation of fourths, minor sevenths and major ninths that suggest an apparent dissolution of the leading tone’s attractive poles.

“Tout est naïf, mais il y a quelque chose.”

Played by the Thelema Trio at the Crane School of Music
Score Details
Format - Undefined
Pages - 34

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: