In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library
no  image found


for Horn and Violoncello

11,00 €
Printed format (+16,20 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download
When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
North America (Canada - USA)
Estimated Duration
16 - 20min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-4615-5

Notes on this piece
The half of the Horn in F (full double horn) is tuned a quarter tone lower.
The cellist uses a capo, which is originally designed to be used for guitar performances.

Program notes
SYZYGY is inspired by my experience of the total lunar eclipse which took place in September 2015, when the marvelous phenomenon happened while the moon was in the perigee position, also known as a behemoth "Supermoon".  This rare celestial sequence is also referred to as a "blood moon eclipse".  The dark crimson color of the moon gradually reveals its ominous secret when it is completely submerged into the umbra section of the Earth's shadow; the shadow or “Uns bleibt ein Erdenrest” (“Earth's residue” in Faust, Part II, Act 5) swallows up the full moon for more than an hour.

The entire piece is based on the contracted/expanded/pure overtone and undertone harmonies having fundamentals derived from the B undertone series progression.  The use of distortion formulae based on arbitrary pseudo-acoustics or the second order difference tone series, which I employed multiple times in my previous compositions including Underwater Comet, enabled me to adjust the amount of hue and shadow of harmonic colors in a personal or even “unconscious” level.

The idea of twofold contrasting forces, prevalent in numerous archetypal religions, myths, and alchemic precepts, is represented here as the conjugation of Lignt (Sol) and Darkness (Luna) into one Opus (Lapis Philosophorum).  This microcosmic psycho-acoustical sonic tapestry is inspired from the Jungian psychoanalytic thesis which I have been interested in for several years, often referring to his perspicacious philosophical interpretations on religious symbolism of unconscious process.

SYZYGY is written in three movements for horn in F and violoncello:

1. Penumbra
2. Immunditia
3. Litany: Posteriora Dei

It is composed between January and May of 2016.
Horn (French Horn)|Cello
Nicolee Kuester
Score Details
Format - A3 / Tabloid
Pages - 30

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: