In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library
quattuor_foci z
quattuor_foci z 7
quattuor_foci z 8
no  image found

Quattuor Foci

12,00 €
Printed format (+14,80 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download

When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
1 - 5min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-0133-8

In Stock
Notes on this piece
These four movements appear as four studies, where the same material of pitches, figures, or expression modes, would be successively read again through four different instrumental prisms: the trombone, the flute, the piccolo clarinet, and the viola. This material results from a previous piece, where sometimes a instrument cathed to him the musical elaboration. At the contraty of this kind of Fantasy, I wanted here to radicalize this attitude and to apply it to a entire short and homogeneous form. Every instrument and its character, idiom and imaginary associated to it are then embodied in different musical possible; instruments being rather filters of the invention than real soloists. To take a photographic analogy, these four moments would be like different focusing from the same camera viewpoint to create different pictures. The "foci" of the title, plural of the Latin "focus" used in English about photography, come from this analogy. But this term could be also applied to my desire to have blurred timbres and melodies. It also  deals with the way I usually proceed in my work, coming from a global vision to go to the details of the realization. Finally, we can hope that these movements which quickly consume their musical fuel can call remind the first meaning of the word : the fireplace.
Flute| Clarinet| trombone|Piano (Prepared)| Percussions| Viola|Double bass
Akademie der Künste - Berlin - 20 septembre 2009 -?Augustin Muller - ingénieur du son
KNM - Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin
Rebecca Lenton - flute
Winfried Rager - clarinet
Mattias Jann - trombone
Michael Weilacher - percussion
Philip Mayers - piano
Kristin Maria Pientka - viola
Arnulf Balhorn - contrebass
Manuel Nawri - conductor
Score Details
Format - A3 / Tabloid
Pages -  24

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: