In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library


for saxophone quartet

10,30 €
Printed format (+16,20 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download
When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
11 - 15min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-4882-1

Notes on this piece
Commissioned by Saxtronauts Saxophone Ensemble with the support of Suomen Säveltäjain Sibelius-Rahasto

Programme notes:

plerion or a "pulsar wind nebula" is a type of nebula found inside the shells of supernova remnants, which contain a central pulsar (a rotating neutron star that emits electromagnetic radiation). The present piece alludes to one in particular: SN 1054, better known as "Crab Nebula". Through a nearly constant mass of sound, the slow pace in the transformation of the material and its intrinsic quietness, the piece acquires a very contemplative and meditative nature. Plerion proposes an immersive, almost ritualistic, experience to the listener.

Taking the supernova remnant as a metaphor, Plerion reflects on energy and its multiple transformations. These space phenomena are the echo of a stare whose explosion produced a vast amount of energy; energy that remains and could potentially become something else. From the nature of supernovae and their ulterior remnants arises a mystical reflection on human existence, life, death, transcending the limits of our condition and the demolition of those boundaries that apparently define us.
Saxophones (4)
Score Details
Format - A3 / Tabloid
Pages - 34

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: