In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library
Crystallize A4 z 3 1 01
Crystallize A4 z 3 9 09
Crystallize A4 z 3 10 10


for percussion quartet

10,30 €
Printed format (+16,20 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download

When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
20 - 25min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-1785-8

In Stock
Notes on this piece
This work explores the idea of a percussion quartet as a genuine chamber dialogue between four distinct voices. Each of the players has a large and varied set-up which is nonetheless treated in large measure as a single “instrument”.
The sound-sources are classified into six families: drums, keyboard wood, untuned wood, keyboard metal, dry metal and resonant metal. Each of these families is distributed between a different pair of players – so for example player 1 plays glockenspiel and crotales (keyboard metal, shared with player 2), xylophone (keyboard wood, shared with player 3) and drums (shared with player 4).
The music is in one continuous 20-minute span, and works its way systematically through all the possible solos, duos and trios, individually and in combination, the whole ensemble only plays as a unified quartet for one passage towards the end. The solo passages are cadenza-like and ametrical, while the duos, trios and quartet are rhythmically aligned, many passages deal with superimpositions of different speeds, or of pulsed and non-pulsed material. The title refers to the way that the various subsets of the ensemble “crystallize” out of the texture, often dissolving again a short time later, as well as to the sparkling complexity of the sonic surface.
Percussions (4)
Score Details
Format - A4 / US Letter
Pages - 64

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: