In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library
descending_flow_fullscore A4 z 2 1 369
no  image found

Descending Flow

Gayageum and ensemble

11,00 €
Printed format (+14,80 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download

When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
6 - 10min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-1624-0

In Stock
Videos on this piece
Notes on this piece
Descending Flow consists of three continuous sections and is based largely on an endlessly-repeated note ‘C’ which is constantly coloured by various instrumental combinations and timbral changes. Each of the three strings C3, C4 (middle C) and C5 of a 12-stringed Gayageum is used in turn to give structure to the music in each of the three sections, whilst the ensemble plays descending flows of rapid notes around these Cs. This is especially so for the middle C, since that is a central note for tuning the Gayageum and acts as the central pitch of the middle section, which is proportionally the longest and most important in this work.

This piece is scored for Gayageum and ensemble (flute/piccolo, oboe, clarinet/bass clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass) and was composed during the spring of 2005. It was commissioned by the International Isang Yun Music Society in Germany and was first performed by the Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin and Jiyoung Yi on 24 September 2005 at the Konzerthaus in Berlin, Germany. It lasts for 9 minutes.
Flute|Oboe|Clarinet|Percussions|Piano|Violin|Viola |Cello|Double bass|Gayageum (Korean zither)
Score Details
Format - A4 / US Letter
Pages - 50

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: