In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library

Suite Geometrica

for 16 Players (2022)

14,00 €
Printed format (+21,40 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download
When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
16 - 20min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-6797-6

Videos on this piece
Notes on this piece
Commissioned by Tongyeong International Music Foundation
Premiered at Tongyeong International Music Festival 2022, Concert Hall, Tongyeong

Clement Power, Conductor
Ensemble TIMF
 While Writing this piece, I got interested in various patterns and shapes made from gestures and textures of sound, and the "geometrical motions" culminated from the players’ actions.
 Mainly, I tried to write the score from ideas derived from the inherent characteristics of the sound of the instruments themselves, starting by categorizing the action of the player who’s making the sound: rubbing, touching, shaking, hitting, blowing, crumpling, etc. Taking them as compositional ideas, I tried to borrow, metamorphose, or even transform the classical structures (Toccata, Arabesque, Sonata respectively) in an extraordinary and quirky way.
 Also, by expanding and diminishing various gestures and patterns and juxtaposing them, I wanted to make a texturally more vibrant piece that defies expectations.
(Sunghyun Lee, Translated by Joonghyun Lee)

0:00 Sunghyun Lee : Suite Geometrica (2022)
0:12 I. Zigzag Toccata
7:43 II. Distorted Arabesque
13:46 III. Kinematic Sonata
Flute|Piccolo|Oboe|Clarinet|Bassoon|Trumpet|Horn (French Horn)|Trombone|Percussions (2)|Piano|Harp|Violin (2)|Viola|Cello|Double bass
0-00 Sunghyun Lee - Suite Geometrica (2022)
0-12 I. Zigzag Toccata
7-43 II. Distorted Arabesque
13-46 III. Kinematic Sonata

Clement Power
Score Details
Format - A3 / Tabloid
Pages - 92

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: