In order to read complete fullscores online,
subscribe to the online library

Primavera (Spring)

Lyric drama for soloists, women's choir and bells.

23,00 €
Printed format (+14,80 € printing and shipping). Colissimo7-14 days aprox.
Digital version (+0,00 €) instant download
When you buy a score, you can contact the composer right here!
Estimated Duration
31 - 40min

ISMN : 979-0-2325-6522-4

Notes on this piece
The action takes place in a representation of a cell in a women's prison. It follows, then, the attitude, at once resigned and determined, of a prisoner in the fulfillment of her destiny. Her time in prison is devoted to studying and writing in a notebook, from which she eventually sings poems. The notebook is supervised and transcribed by prison officers, periodically. We find, at the same time, that she was arrested in her fight for justice under a state of exception, and that she awaits confirmation of the application of the death penalty. We follow the visit of the chaplain and other characters. The prisoner's relationship with the other characters in the libretto, while highlighting events in her trajectory, also projects some of her reflections. Primavera, for soloists and female choir, was composed in 2022 for the "Ópera Fora da Caixa" season at the Theatro Municipal de São Paulo, to a libretto by the composer and Luiz Eduardo Frin, freely inspired by Kanno Sugako's prison diary and including a poem by Akiko Yosano.
Soprano voice|Tenor voice|Baritone voice|Female choir|Tubular Bells
Score Details
Format - A4 / US Letter
Pages - 40

Customers Who Viewed This Piece Also Viewed: