Leopold Hurt

Play all audio recordings
Leopold Hurt (born 1979 in Regensburg/Germany) first studied at the Richard-Strauss-Conservatory in Munich (zither with Georg Glasl, viola da gamba and historical informed performance with Hartwig Groth and Michael Eberth) and received his first lessons in composition with Peter Kiesewetter. In 2004 he continued his studies in musical composition with Manfred Stahnke at the Academy of Music and Theatre in Hamburg. He participated in masterclasses with Dieter Schnebel, Paul-Heinz Dittrich, Brian Ferneyhough (composition) and Nigel North (early music), and attended classes for electronic music at IRCAM in Paris. The work of Leopold Hurt includes the full range of instrumental and vocal music, with a prominent use of the instrument zither, which can be found in several of his compositions. A number of works reflects his concern with historical sound documents of traditional folk music, also using electronics and multimedia. As an instrumentalist, he played i.a. with the symphony orchestras of the BR, WDR and NDR (German broadcasting corporation), the Orchestra di Roma and the Hamburg Philharmonic. He also works as a conductor and contributes in many ways to integrate the zither in the current music scene. One result is i.a. the cooperation with the DJ duo Gebrüder Teichmann (Berlin). On behalf of the Goethe Institute, he repeatedly made concert tours to China, Ireland and Lebanon. Leopold Hurt has received several awards for his work, including the “Gustav Mahler Composition Prize Klagenfurt (Austria)”, 2008, the “Stuttgart Composition Prize 2010” and the “Bach Prize Scholarship of the City of Hamburg 2011”. As a fellow of the State of Bavaria, he lived in 2003/2004 at the “Cité Internationale des Arts” in Paris and during 2009/2010 at the International House of Arts “Villa Concordia” Bamberg. Leopold Hurt lives and works in Hamburg. Photo copyright: Astrid Ackermann



The full scores by Juliane Klein are available online through our Subscription service thanks to an agreement established between BabelScores and Edition Juliane Klein.

Ensemble (Instruments ou voix) et électronique fixée

Reality Check (2013)
Fred Ott's Sneeze (2011)
Erratischer Block (2007)
Aggregat (2005)

Ensemble (10 - 19 instruments)

Dead Reckoning (2012)
Broken Consort III "Schewebendes Verfahren" (2009)
Flex (2009)

Voix et instruments

Seismographien (2009)

Groupe de Chambre (2 - 4 instruments)

August Frommers Dinge (2008)
Tunnel (2008)

Trio à Cordes

August Frommers Dinge (2008)