Michele Abondano

Play all audio recordings

Composer, researcher, and experimental performer. Her creative work has been developed in the fields of acoustic and electroacoustic music as well as live electronics and collaborative works with dance. Her main interest is to explore timbre, especially, its multidimensional and dynamic condition. She has been winner of the Scholarship for the Creation of Contemporary Music granted by the Ministry of Culture (Colombia, 2015), ECOES-UNAM Scholarship for an Artistic Residency at the Mexican Centre for Music and Sonic Arts CMMAS (Mexico, 2014), and Melos/Gandini’11 Scholarship granted by Melos Ediciones Musicales S.A. (Argentina, 2011).

She was awarded the AHC Doctoral Research Scholarship to pursue a PhD in Composition at the University of Leeds (2018–21), and her thesis, titled ‘The Composition of Timbre: A Multidimensional Approach’, was developed with the supervision of Martin Iddon and Scott McLaughlin. She holds a Master’s degree in Music Composition from Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (2015), where she studied with Jorge Torres Sáenz as supervisor, and Gabriela Ortiz and Carole Chargueron as composition mentors. Her Master’s Thesis titled ‘Reflections on the creative process of a cycle of transmedial and collaborative works, articulated by the timbral exploration through the interaction of sound and movement’ [originally in Spanish] was awarded with the Honourable Mention. She also completed a Bachelor in Composition at Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina (2011) with Marcelo Delgado and Marcos Franciosi, and has continued her training as a composer in workshops and composition lessons with Malin Bång, Mark André, Clara Iannotta, Chaya Czernowin, Toshio Hosokawa, Justė Janulytė, José Luis Castillo, and Gerardo Gandini, among others. She holds a Bachelor in Music from Universidad Pedagógica Nacional (Colombia, 2008) where she worked on a Monograph titled ‘Six Contemporary Works from Bogotá (1990–2006): An approximation to the Aesthetical and Theoretical-Musical Concepts’ [originally in Spanish] with the supervision of Ana María Romano Gómez. This research received the Honourable Distinction.

Her music has been performed by soloists and ensembles including Lola Malique, Riot Ensemble, Sylvia Hinz, Collective Lovemusic, New Mexico Contemporary Ensemble, Rebekah Heller, Joy Guidry, Chuck Furlong (Collective Verdant Vibes), The Chimera Ensemble, Aleksandra Demowska-Madejska, LSTwo Contemporary Music Ensemble, Grupo Otraparte, Bogotá Orquesta de Improvisadores, Ensamble Cepromusic, and Compañía Oblicua. Her works are currently published by Babel Scores.

She has worked as a Lecturer in areas such as interdisciplinary creation and research at Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas (Colombia) as well as composition and music theory at Universidad de Pamplona (Colombia). Her research has been published in the Proceedings of the 2nd International Conference on Timbre (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), the journal Ensayos: Historia y Teoría del Arte (Universidad Nacional de Colombia), and Revista ASAB (Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas).

Site web :
Tri par année. Les pièces les plus recentes apparaissent d'abord

Groupe de Chambre (2 - 4 instruments)

The Shimmer Beneath: A Scattering Attempt - (2019)
Distorted Pieces of Something Study on Light (when it rains) (2019)
Just An Attempt To Dissipate - (2019)
Soundless as dots on a disk of snow - (2018)
Distancia entre dos puntos perdidos - (2017)
Gab - (2011)

Ensemble Pierrot (fl, cl, vln, vlc, piano)

Trayectos - (2012)

Orchestre Symphonique

J'aime les nuages... - (2011)

Quatuor de Saxophones

Gab - (2011)