Camilo-Andrés Méndez San Juan

Play all audio recordings
Camilo Andrés Méndez San Juan was born in Bogotá, Colombia. He is currently studying at the Royal College of Music supported by the Aston Award and Colfuturo. Camilo studied composition at the university of Los Andes with Catalina Peralta C, and at the conservatori Liceu of Barcelona with David Padrós

Camilo is currently working towards a Dmus in composition with Dr. Jonathan Cole in London and with Rebecca Saunders in Berlin. He has participated in workshops, master classes and summer courses with Hanspeter Kyburz, Pierluigi Billone, Chaya Czernowin and Graciela Paraskevaidis amongst others. His music has been peformed by The London Contemporary Orchestra (conducted by Baldur Bronnimann), The Composers Ensemble (conducted by Richard Baker) and The New Perspectives Ensemble (conducted by Tim Lines), La Machine Ensemble (conducted by Cristian Gort), Curious Chamber Players (conducted by Rei Munakata), the Ligeti Quartet and Fukio Saxophone Quartet, in venues and festivals such as the Cadogan Hall in London, Darmstadt Summer Course for New Music, Klasik Keyifler in Cappadocia and the Next Generation Program of the Donaueschingen Music Festival. Camilo has received commissions and collaborated with soloist who specialized in contemporary music such as Andrew Ball, Carla Rees, Daniel Añez, Denise Lee, Yumi Murakami and Karin Hellqvist.

In 2009 Camilo was awarded with the Colombian National prize in composition for his piece Tropical Textures VI, and won the Concerto Competition of the Royal College of Music with his piece 3 constellations, which was also one of four shortlisted works for the LCO´s call for scores 2008/09. His piece Sanus Volatile for solo piano was one of nine finalists in the competition the Sound of Perfume collaboration between the Royal College of Music and the perfumery Clive Christian.
Ordered by year. Most recent works appears first

Chamber Group ( 2 - 4 instruments )

Cage-Richter (2012)
Como el ruido levísimo del caer de una estrella (2011)

Solo Instrument

Canción de la Distancia (2011)

Chamber Ensemble (5 - 9 instruments)

Mechanical Resonance III (2011)