Wataru Miyakawa

Play all audio recordings
Born in 1975, Wataru Miyakawa studied composition with Georges Bœuf and Régis Campo at the Conservatoire à rayonnement régional (CRR) de Marseille. He was trained in electroacoustic composition with Christophe Maudot and Stéphane Borrel at the CRR de Lyon. Since 2004, he continued his study of composition with Robert Pascal, Denis Lorrain and François Roux at the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Lyon. Additional studies include those with Tristan Murail, Beat Furrer, Hanspeter Kyburz (centre Acanthes) and Betsy Jolas (Académie musicale de Villecroze). He was admitted into the Cursus 1 of Composition and Computer Music in 2010-11 at IRCAM.
In 2003, he composed Teintes, commissioned by the French Ministry of Culture and premiered by the Orchestre National d’Harmonie des Jeunes. He was awarded the Prix du Jury at the competition Jeunes Compositeurs 2006 organized by the CRR de Boulogne-Billancourt.
Miyakawa’s music has been performed in the 3rd and 5th Forums de la Jeune Création Musicale de la SIMC in Paris, Aujourd’hui Musiques, Musica, Labeaume en Musiques, « Japon - Jardins musicaux » in Geneva, Cantiere Internazionale d’Arte di Montepulciano in Italy, « Quartiers d’été 2010 » at the Yokohama Minato-Mirai Hall in Japan, etc. He has collaborated with such ensembles as the Orchestre National de Lorraine, Ensemble Linea, L’instant donné, Résonance contemporaine, Ensemble Hijiri-Kai or Orchestre Symphonique des Dômes, and also with the other artists like the film director Clémence Madeleine-Perdrillat (with the grant of the SIRAR), the visual artist Camille von Deschwande or the multimedia artist Jazel Kristin.
Grant holder of the French Government and the Fondation internationale Nadia et Lili Boulanger, Miyakawa is author of the Ph D thesis (Université de Provence) on the works of Toru Takemitsu (published by Harmattan).
Ordered by year. Most recent works appears first

Chamber Group ( 2 - 4 instruments )

Sur la faille (2011)
à x (2002)

Symphony Orchestra

Pièce pour orchestre (2010)

Chamber Ensemble (5 - 9 instruments)

Aux confins du silence - Hommage à John Cage- (2012)
Deux instants (2008)

Ensemble (10 - 19 instruments)

Trois Mouvements (2008)

Solo Instrument

Par la suite (2002)