Michele Abondano

Play all audio recordings

Composer, researcher, and experimental performer. Her creative work has been developed in the areas of acoustic and electroacoustic music as well as live electronics and collaborative works with dance. Her main interest is to explore timbre, especially, its multidimensional and dynamic condition. She has been a fellow of the Stiftung Künstlerdorf Schöppingen (Germany, 2023) as well as a winner of the Ibermúsicas Prize of Composition and Premiere of Work (2022), the Grant for the Creation of Contemporary Music awarded by the Ministry of Culture (Colombia, 2015), the ECOES-UNAM Scholarship for an Artistic Residency at the Mexican Centre for Music and Sonic Arts CMMAS (Mexico, 2014), and the Melos/Gandini’11 Grant by Melos Ediciones Musicales (Argentina, 2011).

She was awarded a PhD in Composition at the University of Leeds (2022), and her thesis, titled 'The Composition of Timbre: A Multidimensional Approach', was developed with the supervision of Martin Iddon and Scott McLaughlin thanks to the AHC Doctoral Research Scholarship. She also holds a Master’s degree in Music Composition from Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (2015), where she studied with Jorge Torres Sáenz as supervisor, and Gabriela Ortiz and Carole Chargueron as composition mentors. Her Master’s thesis, titled ‘Reflections on the creative process of a cycle of transmedial and collaborative works, articulated by the timbral exploration through the interaction of sound and movement’ [originally in Spanish], was awarded with the Honourable Mention. She completed a Bachelor in Composition at Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina (2011) with Marcelo Delgado and Marcos Franciosi, and has continued her training as a composer in workshops and composition lessons with Malin Bång, Mark André, Clara Iannotta, Chaya Czernowin, Toshio Hosokawa, Justė Janulytė, José Luis Castillo, and Gerardo Gandini, among others. She holds a Bachelor in Music from Universidad Pedagógica Nacional (Colombia, 2008), where she worked on a Monograph, titled ‘Six Contemporary Works from Bogotá (1990–2006): An approximation to the Aesthetical and Theoretical-Musical Concepts’ [originally in Spanish], with the supervision of Ana María Romano. This research received the Honourable Distinction.

Her electronic music has been part of international events such as SONIC MATTER Festival, Festival En Tiempo Real, OUA Electroacoustic Music Festival, CLICK Electroacoustic Music Series, FIME Festival Internacional de Música Experimental, Audiograft Festival and Festival Encuentros Sonoros. Her instrumental works have been performed by soloists and ensembles including Aleksandra Demowska-Madejska, Lola Malique, Riot Ensemble, Sylvia Hinz, Collective Lovemusic, Ensemble New Babylon, New Mexico Contemporary Ensemble, Rebekah Heller, Joy Guidry, Collective Verdant Vibes, The Chimera Ensemble, and Grupo Otraparte. Currently, her works are published by Babel SCORES (France).

She has worked as a Lecturer of interdisciplinary creation and research at Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas (Colombia) as well as composition and music theory at Universidad de Pamplona (Colombia). Her research has been published in the Proceedings of the 2nd International Conference on Timbre (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), the journal Ensayos: Historia y Teoría del Arte (Universidad Nacional de Colombia), and Revista ASAB (Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas).

Ordered by year. Most recent works appears first

Chamber Group ( 2 - 4 instruments )

The Shimmer Beneath: A Scattering Attempt - (2019)
Distorted Pieces of Something Study on Light (when it rains) (2019)
Just An Attempt To Dissipate - (2019)
Soundless as dots on a disk of snow - (2018)
Distancia entre dos puntos perdidos - (2017)
Gab - (2011)

Pierrot Ensemble (fl, cl, vln, vlc, piano)

Trayectos - (2012)

Symphony Orchestra

J'aime les nuages... - (2011)

Saxophone Quartet

Gab - (2011)